Sep 142011
Arthur Badge
Fiction Legend

King Arthur of Fiction

The stories of King Arthur that we know and love are fiction. There might be a person that the Real King Arthur was based upon, or even a number of heroes that his life is based on – but there was no King in the Middle Ages who was called King Arthur. This page therefore details the biography and life of the fictional King Arthur based on the story of King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table in books such as “Le Morte D’Arthur” by Sir Thomas Malory,


The (Royal) Green Jackets of Legend

Did live in Winchester as did our forefather Regiments…

Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire Light Infantry (43rd & 52nd)

The Kings Royal Rifle Corps (60th Royal American Regiment)

The Rifle Brigade (Prince Consort`s Own)

The ancestral home of The Royal Green Jackets

The (Royal) Green Jackets of Legend

Did have the freedom of the City of Winchester as did some of our forefathers…

King Arthur of Fiction

Has a Round Table within the Great Hall in the City of Winchester…

The (Royal) Green Jackets of Legend

And our forefather regiments do not have a tribute in Peninsula Barracks…

The (Royal) Green Jackets of Legend

Have all served their Queen and Country well, some making the ultimate sacrifice…

King Arthur of Fiction

Lives on in Winchester and is remembered and visited daily…

The (Royal) Green Jackets of Legend

Do not want to be forgotten in their ancestral home Peninsula Barracks and the City of Winchester ;

We were and still are LEGEND…


Knights of the Round Table

The Knights of the Round Table were characters in the legends about King Arthur. They were the best knights in King Arthur’s kingdom, and lived in King Arthur’s castle, Camelot. They were called the Knights of the Round Table because of a special table that was in Camelot, that was round instead of rectangular. This meant that everyone who sat around it was seen as equal.

Code of Chivalry

In order to become a Knight of the Round Table, a knight had to prove he was chivalrous (polite) enough. In the legend, the knights swore a Code of Chivalry, which is much like an oath is today. This meant that they promised to uphold the rules given to them once they became a Knight of the Round Table.

Sir Thomas Malory (c. 1405 – March 14th, 1471) was an English writer, who wrote a book based on the legend of King Arthur. It was called Le Morte d’Arthur. In it, he wrote his version of the Code of Chivalry:

To never do outrage nor murder (not to assault or murder anybody)

Always to flee treason (do not commit treason, a crime against your country or king)

To by no means be cruel but to give mercy unto him who asks for mercy (Do not be mean. Grant mercy to those who ask, even in combat.)

To always do ladies, gentlewomen and widows succor (‘succor’ is an old word for help; this means that the knight must promise to help women if they need it. Note that this does not necessarily include peasantry.)

To never force ladies, gentlewomen or widows (never ‘harm’ women. Note that this does not necessarily include peasantry.)

Not to take up battles in wrongful quarrels for love or worldly goods (do not even join in fights over

anything less than god or country)

List of the Knights of the Round Table

In different stories, there are different numbers of knights, ranging from 12 to more than 150. The Winchester Round Table shows 25 Knights. Most of the people believe that these are the knights of the round table:

King Arthur
Bors the Younger

Other Knights
This is a list of other knights mentioned as being Knights of the Round Table.

Sir Aglovale
Sir Agravaine
King Bagdemagus
Sir Breunor
Sir Caradoc
Sir Colgrevance
Sir Constantine
Sir Dagonet, the court jester
Sir Daniel
Sir Ector
Sir Ector de Maris
Sir Elyan the White
Sir Gaheris
Sir Galehaut
Sir Galeshin
Sir Geraint
Sir Gingalain
King Leodegrance
Sir Lionel
Sir Maleagant
Sir Morien
Sir Pelleas
Sir Sagramore le Desirous
Sir Safir
Sir Segwarides
Sir Tor
King Uriens
Sir Ywain the Bastard